WhatsApp Image 2020-11-26 at 15.29.57.jp

One Woman Show:

Languages: French, Spanish

Duration: 1h10          

Author-performer: Ulima Ortiz Coste

Artistic Collaborator: Clara Rousselin

                                                            

SYNOPSIS:

France, 2030, Irène Baicué, aged 36, has been living in Paris for a few years. On her return from a work trip, she learns that: "Any French citizen with dual nationality, including a non-European one, will be forced to renounce one of them in order to remain on French soil". Will she be able to choose between the Colombian culture, written in her hips and landscapes, or the French culture present in her education and mother tongue?

In the rush to choose, Irene investigates to find her "true identity". We travel with her in the past, in Colombia and then in her imagination. Her desires and frustrations are the object of her insatiable quest to define herself. Who am I, who defines me and why do I have to define myself? 

 

She delves into her past; her words and her sometimes nostalgic play bring to light characters from her childhood, from her imagination, but also from her surroundings such as Parisian society life. It is with humour and sincerity that she takes the audience into her universe, shared between two personalities, two languages, two passports.

 

The more she reverses the roles, completes, agitates and pulls the threads of her story, the more she becomes aware of her hybridity. An infinite number of questions arise on universal issues such as citizenship, identity and uprooting.

 

Her permanent duel with the world today pushes Irene towards a kind of bitter madness. Between dream and reality, her gaze is sharpened, a conviction asserts itself, revealing its share of humanity.

 

 

WORK IN PROGRESS:

20 February 2021:

Participation in the Open Ring ( 2nd version ).

 

7 to 11 December 2020: 

Creative residency at the Doc, Paris. Leaving the residence, presentation of the model.

 

26th to 29th November:

Creative residency at the TDI (open-ended theatre), Paris.

 

5 to 16 October 2020: 

Creative residency at the Doc, Paris.

 

20 to 26 January 2020: 

Creative residency at La Casa del Silencio, Bogotá.

 

14 June 2019: 

Participation in the Festivalito de Calvisson.

 

1st to 13th April 2019:

Creative residency at La Belle Échappée.

 

12th April 2019:

Residency at Cart de Sommières.

 

3rd April 2019:

Intervention at the Centre Socioculturel Calade de Sommières.

CONTACT

Ulima Ortiz Coste

Mise en scène

  • Instagram

Produced by

Asset%202_edited.png

Supported by

Femme Hybride 

                                                            Seul en Scène

 

 

Langues: Français, Espagnol

Durée: 1:10          

Auteure-interprète: Ulima Ortiz Coste

CollaboratriceArtistique: Clara Rousselin

                                                            

« Grandir entre deux mondes m'a obligé à aiguiser mon regard et à confronter des points de vues souvent divergents. Adopter une seule identité n'est pas simple; il arrive souvent de ne pas se sentir à sa place ou de se penser le produit d'une étrange hybridation. Tout en gardant vivantes les expériences acquises tout au long du chemin, il nous appartient de décider qui l'on veut être, où se trouve notre place et si l'on souhaite aller vers de nouveaux horizons. »

 

Karim El Maktafi.

 

France, 2030, Irène Baicué âgé de 36 ans vit à Paris depuis quelques années. Au retour d’un voyage de travail, elle apprend que: « Tout citoyen Français possédant une double nationalité, dont une extra-européenne, sera contraint de renoncer à l'une d'entre elles pour pouvoir rester sur le sol Français». Pourra t-elle choisir entre la culture Colombienne, inscrite dans ses hanches et ses paysages, ou la culture Française présente dans son éducation et sa langue maternelle?

Dans l’urgence de choisir, Irène enquête pour trouver sa « véritable identité ». On voyage avec elle dans le passé, en Colombie puis dans son imaginaire. Ses désirs et ses frustrations font l’objet de sa quête insatiable à vouloir se définir. Qui suis-je, qui me définit et pourquoi ai-je à me définir? 

 

Elle fouille dans son passé; sa parole et son jeu parfois nostalgique, nous fait apparaître des personnages de l’enfance, de son imagination, mais aussi de son entourage tel que la vie mondaine parisienne. C’est avec humour et sincérité qu’elle emmène le public dans son univers, partagée entre deux personnalités, deux langues, deux passeports.

 

Plus elle inverse les rôles, complète, agite et tire les fils de son histoire, plus elle prend conscience de son hybridité. Une infinité d'interrogations apparaissent sur des problématiques universelles telles que la citoyenneté, l’identité et le déracinement.

Son duel permanent vis à vis du monde actuel, poussent Irène vers une sorte de folie amère. Entre rêve et réalité son regard s’aiguise, une conviction s’affirme laissant apparaître sa part d’humanité

WORK IN PROGRESS

Décembre 2020

Journée Portes Ouvertes- First Round, ICP.

Juin 2019

Présentations au "Festivalito" à Calvisson.

Avril 2019

Extrait presenté au "Cart" de Sommières. 

Résidence à la Belle Echappée.

Ateliers de théâtre au Centre Socioculturel Calade à Sommières.


Février 2018

Résidence à Alençon.

CONTACT

Ulima Ortiz Coste

Mise en scène

  • Instagram

Produit par

Soutenu par

18 Rue Ramus 75020 Paris, France TEL: (+33) 06 80 10 45 03 EMAIL: 1stround.icp@gmail.com

COPYRIGHT(C) FirstRound International Creative Platform. 

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Instagram Icon
  • Grey YouTube Icon